Home for the Holidays

December 19, 2009 at 12:03 PM 3 comments

Ho ho home. Yes, I am home for the holidays and boy, does it feel great! This morning I woke up early to go on a run with the ladies as I had promised yesterday. I was a bit scared that I would hold the group back since my running has been minimal between Thanksgiving and now, but somehow my body was able to run a solid 90 minutes – yahoo! I’m not gonna lie, my legs are stiff as a board.

Post-run breakfast was a big bowl of blueberry oats. There is something about oats at home (I think it’s our stove). Nothing compares…

  • 1 cup water
  • 2/3 cup rolled oats
  • big blueberries
  • nutty granola
  • orange blossom honey
  • splash of skim milk

+ fresh o.j.

***

Let us rewind to yesterday…

I got home around 3:00 in the afternoon after a slow 4-hour drive over the mountains. I lucked out with the weather, and didn’t encounter any scary ice or snow. My brother flew in yesterday too, so the nest is now full again : )

My dad had dough rising near the warm wood stove to make us all homemade pizza for dinner. It was topped with all sorts of goodness:

  • Pesto
  • Grilled Chicken
  • Caramelized Onion
  • Fresh Mozzarella
  • Asiago
  • Gorgonzola

After dinner, the Christmas tunes were on turned and we got to town decorating our tree. I know the big day is less than a week away, but my parents know better to not decorate the tree without me ; )

A couple of my favorite ornaments:

S’more Snowman

1st Ornament

I guarantee there will many more pictures of the tree and holiday decor, but the noon whistle just rang and I want to get through my agenda for the day…

  1. Run
  2. Blog
  3. Shower
  4. Unpack my life
  5. Finish decorating the tree
  6. ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas Ballet @ 6:00pm

Happy Saturday!

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Breaking Habit Slacking on the Job

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. findinghappinessandhealth  |  December 19, 2009 at 4:31 PM

    delicious oats/amazing looking pizza. & i love the ornaments :) prettty

    Reply
  • 2. The voracious Vegan  |  December 20, 2009 at 1:21 AM

    Awww home for the holidays, how wonderful! Must be so nice to be with your family again. I LOVE that s’mores snowman, I need one for my tree!

    Merry Christmas!

    Reply
  • 3. biz319  |  December 20, 2009 at 3:08 PM

    Your Dad’s pizza looks great, except I would leave off the onions! :D

    Love the snowman ornament!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



