“This is my winter soul to you.”

December 14, 2009 at 9:39 AM 6 comments

Do you ever have those nights where you go to bed hungry starving and all you dream about is breakfast? Maybe that’s just me. Well, last night was one of those nights. I was having a difficult time falling asleep; all I wanted was to snap my fingers and have it be breakfast time!

Fast forward 8 hours later…

Obviously, after all that thinking I knew what I would be having for my first meal of the day. Today’s breakfast was inspired by Kath, who never fails to create a unique bowl of oatmeal.  Several times she has topped her hearty oats with a baked good (most often a muffin) that her husband brought home from the bakery where he works. (Think ya know what’s next?) Yes, you’re right…I topped my oats with none other than a Carrot Raisin Bran Muffin.

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup oats (switched it up!)
  • dollop of cinnamon apple sauce
  • 1 crumbled muffin
  • (more) cinnamon
  • splash of soymilk

Here’s to me being more adventurous : )

No final exams today, which means another full day of studying – ick. I plan to finish up my paper while listening to Winter Song (Sara Bareilles & Ingrid Michaelson) on repeat…

Hope your week is off to a great start – studying, working, EATING…

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

On a Muffin Mission Going Green

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Abby (Nibble, Nourish, Run)  |  December 14, 2009 at 10:33 AM

    I went to bed last night hungry too (although I ate plenty so was probably just wanting to eat junk) – but I dreamed about cheese! I mean random, but clearly my mind wanted to eat!

    Reply
  • 2. shell625  |  December 14, 2009 at 11:58 AM

    that looks perfectly delicious..a great way to start the morning!!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 3. Christy  |  December 14, 2009 at 12:03 PM

    Don’t worry, you’re not the only one… I think about breakfast when getting into bed sometimes, too!! :D And the oatmeal looks good. I’ve never topped mine w/ a muffin, I need to get with it haha

    Reply
  • 4. Emily  |  December 14, 2009 at 3:54 PM

    gotta love Kath and her oatmeal concoctions! Yours looks divine! :D

    Reply
  • 5. louisianagrown  |  December 14, 2009 at 4:46 PM

    My grandpa always asks my grandma what’s for breakfast before they ever go to bed at night, and I’m definitely guilty of planning breakfast while I’m falling asleep. I think it’s just a sign that you eat good food!

    Reply
  • 6. Anna  |  December 14, 2009 at 4:47 PM

    Ah, you are totally not alone there! I have spent many a night excited about the breakfast I would get to have when I woke up :-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



