Pearfect Oatmeal

December 8, 2009 at 10:23 AM 7 comments

Morning! I woke up to 28 degree weather outside after a mere 5 hours of sleep. Wish I had time for a nap today, but it doesn’t look like that’s in the plans. I stirred up a pot of oats this a.m., as I can always count on it to warm me up and supply me with at least a couple solid hours of energy.

I swear there are oats in there!

  • 1 cup water
  • 2/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 d’anjou pear
  • chopped raw almonds
  • cinnamon & honey

There are probably a hundred ways to make oatmeal, but my mom taught me to use a 1 : 2/3 cup ratio. It makes really thick oats, rather than a porridge.

How do you like your oats, thick or soupy?

The day has just begun and I’m already struggling to keep my eyes open. Here we go…

Have a great day!

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Baby, it’s cold outside. Let it Snow!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. shell625  |  December 8, 2009 at 12:24 PM

    thick :) but not too thick! & it was freezing here today too! lots of snow

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 2. Courtney  |  December 8, 2009 at 1:06 PM

    THICK BABY!

    Reply
  • 3. Donna  |  December 8, 2009 at 4:33 PM

    OMG…there is snow falling on this page. Is it snowing that much in Chico?

    Reply
  • 4. Sweet Cheeks  |  December 8, 2009 at 6:30 PM

    I know the feeling…i didn’t get much sleep last night either. Just so much on my mind! Hope your day got better than it started off! Although I’m sure the oats made you feel better. ;)

    Reply
  • 5. Anna  |  December 8, 2009 at 6:43 PM

    Mmmmm…the thicker the better :-)

    Just found your blog through Kath’s. Looking forward to reading it!

    Reply
  • 6. Mom  |  December 8, 2009 at 10:45 PM

    I had Greek yogurt with diced pear and granola for lunch yesterday – mmm! But it was the last of the granola, so we need to make some more when you come home ;)

    Reply
  • 7. Mom  |  December 8, 2009 at 10:46 PM

    P.S. – I like the falling snow!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



