Baby, it’s cold outside.

December 7, 2009 at 7:53 PM 5 comments

Brrrr…technically it’s not freezing outside at 37 degrees, but I’m not much warmer than a bag of frozen peas. It doesn’t help that I am left with wet hair from my ice-cold shower.

I tried to warm myself up with a steaming hot stir-fry for dinner. I sliced up a block of firm tofu (I heart tofu!) and put it in the oven to bake with some Soyaki (TJ’s teriyaki sauce) while I jumped in the shower. I cooked the tofu for 30 minutes @ 350, flipped them over, and let them go another 15 minutes @ 400. During the last 15 minutes, I heated up my wok with a little canola oil and stir-fried red & yellow bell pepper, carrot and purple onion. Usually, I like to have some green in the mix (broccoli, zucchini, snap peas), but they didn’t end up in my basket at the grocery store yesterday, so sunset colors it was…

I’m excited to have lots of leftover tofu for lunches!

Anyway, today went as planned – nothing out of the ordinary. Despite my extremely sore muscles from yesterday’s workout (it feels as though a car crashed into my hamstrings), I fit in an hour at the gym between my two classes:

  • 10 minutes erg (rowing machine)
  • 15 minutes stationary bike
  • 20 minutes treadmill
  • 15 minutes STRETCHING!

Then I put my huge coat back on and braved the cold weather as I walked downtown for a low-fat latte & piece of pumpkin bread (guilty pleasure). I purchased a couple more Christmas gifts (getting there, little by little) and also squeezed in some textbook reading at the library before my last nutrition class of the semester.

Yep, that about covers it. Time to start preparing for those dreaded finals…

Hope you’re soakin’ up the holiday spirit : )

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Beginning of the End Pearfect Oatmeal

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. shell625  |  December 7, 2009 at 9:05 PM

    i love tofu– & it sounds like you had a great workout!
    and pumpkin bread is the bestt
    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 2. Allie (Live Laugh Eat)  |  December 7, 2009 at 9:46 PM

    That tofu looks FABULOUS!! As if it’s straight out of a magazine–seriously! I love the colors too. Wow!

    Reply
  • 3. caitsplate  |  December 8, 2009 at 7:05 AM

    YAY for baked tofu! We were on the same wavelength last night I guess :) Have fun at your last class! They’re always the best!

    Reply
  • 4. Mrs. H  |  December 10, 2009 at 6:51 AM

    Hey Hillary…off to NY city today. Yum! Going to get a little culture too and see all the hoilday fare. Cold, but so is Humboldt!!! xo Anne

    Reply
    • 5. Hillary  |  December 10, 2009 at 9:51 AM

      I am so jealous! I have always wanted to go to NYC in the winter. I am going this summer – can’t wait!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



