“It’s the most wonderful time of the year.”

November 28, 2009 at 10:48 PM 6 comments

Please pardon my late post. I was just having too much fun decorating for the holidays. I had Pandora blasting the Christmas tunes and a cup of hot Candy Cane Lane tea in hand. I worked up a sweat climbing up and down the stairs into the attic bringing down the precious boxes that had collected dust since last year. Decorating for Christmas has been a beloved activity of mine since I was a little girl. I can remember staying up into the late hours of the night with my mom putting each ornament in exactly the right place on our freshly cut Silver Tip tree. We usually sipped egg nog and had Daffy and Donald Duck singing Christmas songs – I think that’s still my favorite Christmas CD to this day : )

I’m glad I (finally) got around to warming up the house with a few festive decorations. I am excited for my dad to cut down our tree next weekend with the rest of the fam. It really isn’t Christmas without the refreshing scent of pine from a twinkling tree.

Anyway, to the eats…

Lunch was Thanksgiving leftovers: round 2.

(roasted winter squash, beets, red bell pepper, garlic, parmesan, parsley)

After folding laundry, a coffee visit with a girlfriend, and an errand with my mom, I made dinner for the ‘rents:

Taco Salads:

  • romaine & butter lettuces
  • organic black beans
  • cheddar cheese
  • avocado
  • tomato
  • red onion
  • chipotle-lime (low-fat) ranch
  • salsa
  • flax seed tortilla chips

It’s been a truly wonderful week at home. I’m anxious for the next couple weeks of final papers and exams to fly by, so I can continue to enjoy “the most wonderful time of the year”.

Warm wishes to you and yours,

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Eat. Live. Run. Back to the books…

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katy @ These Beautiful Feet  |  November 29, 2009 at 6:24 AM

    I can’t wait to decorate for Christmas! We’re getting our tree today! I cannot wait, nothing like that smell. I haven’t had a real tree for a few years, since being in college. It will be nice to have a full month with a yummy smelling tree in my apartment! :) YAY!

    Reply
  • 2. Megan  |  November 29, 2009 at 7:11 AM

    Mmm I love love love leftovers!! Sometimes they’re even better the next day :)

    Reply
  • 3. Donna  |  November 29, 2009 at 8:38 AM

    I like seeing my yellow and blue bowl in the picture. COLOR!

    Reply
  • 4. shell625  |  November 29, 2009 at 8:48 AM

    i agree- can’t wait for al this work to be over!! but your eats look really good.. love leftovers :)

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 5. Jan R  |  December 4, 2009 at 9:14 PM

    Hill –
    I have been reading your blog most every day and really enjoy it. You are a good writer!
    One question – have you tried the Muesli at Brio?
    I love that stuff – here is my version:
    Soak a cup of oats in a cup of apple juice overnight.
    Grate an apple into it (you don’t need to peel it)
    Add some plain Greek yogurt and the juice from a half a lemon…
    Sprinkle with blueberries, strawberries, or toasted almonds..
    Mmmmm good!

    Reply
    • 6. Hillary  |  December 4, 2009 at 9:53 PM

      I haven’t tried their muesli. Your recipe sounds great…right up my alley – thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

November 2009
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



