ThankFULL

November 27, 2009 at 1:38 AM 7 comments

T’was another day full of many things to be thankful for…

I ended up spending the majority of the afternoon baking in the kitchen with my mom. Between the two of us, we made three pies and two tarts – that’s a lot of flour & sugar. I did not get around to climbing into the attic to unveil the boxes of Christmas decorations, but since my travel plans have changed, I’ll be able to conquer that task activity this weekend.

Back to the baking. Check out my mother’s lovely pies (she’s done this once or twice):

2 Apple

1 Pumpkin

Our usual Thanksgiving group was thinned out this year (just 10 of us), but there was still enough food to feed an army.

I enjoyed a glass of homemade apple juice (really, everything is homemade in this family) as a pre-dinner “spirit”:

It’s tradition to have a green salad as a starter. This year was no different:

(mixed greens, satsuma, red onion, walnuts & simple vinaigrette)

Can’t forget about the homemade rolls. I managed to contain myself to just one this year:

Satsuma place “cards” are another commonality in our family:

My plate…yep, just one : )

  • Turkey
  • Garlic Parmesan Mashed Potatoes
  • Gravy
  • Roasted Winter Squash, Beets & Garlic
  • Broccoli with Parmesan
  • Cranberry Sauce

I couldn’t get enough of my aunt’s amazing veggies!

I often forget what I have to be thankful for, taking too much for granted. Today I was reminded about the things I am thankful for:

my mother, my father, my brother, family, supportive friends, running, clean air, education, my health and the health of my family, delicious food, a warm house, coffee, old pictures, sunshine, mornings, rain, hugs & laughter…

Hope you all were able to share the day with those you love.

Many Thanks,

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Turkey Trot Candy Cane Lane

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Donna  |  November 27, 2009 at 7:20 AM

    well done:)

    Reply
  • 2. Emily  |  November 27, 2009 at 8:13 AM

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! :-)

    Those pies look absolutely delish!

    Reply
  • 3. Mom  |  November 27, 2009 at 8:45 AM

    B-U-TIFULL post! And I love your ‘thankful’ list. I am soooo thankful for YOU! ~ and family, friends, health, amazing ‘natural’ beauty of our planet Earth, quiet time, diversity, beach walks, tea, spices, color, senses, fruit and flowers, smiles, and washing machines :)………if only I could add world peace to that list. xo, mom

    Reply
  • 4. shell625  |  November 27, 2009 at 9:05 AM

    looks like an amazingly successful thanksgiving. i’m so jealous of those pies!!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 5. Devan  |  November 27, 2009 at 11:04 AM

    Wow! Everything looks so delicious! What a beautiful feast!

    Happy Thanksgiving, to you and to yours:)

    Reply
  • 6. Melodie Negri  |  November 27, 2009 at 11:30 AM

    Gorgeous pies! Love your pictures!

    Melodie

    Reply
  • 7. Bekah  |  November 27, 2009 at 3:57 PM

    Oh, the pies look fantastic!

    And I think you’ve just convinced me to pursue making homemade rolls. And my family and I aren’t even bread eaters. Ah, those look crazy good. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

November 2009
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



