“There’s No Place Like Home”

November 21, 2009 at 10:47 PM 3 comments

There is nothing better than home sweet home. As you all know, I began my Thanksgiving Break yesterday morning as I made the (wet) drive to Sonoma to celebrate my friend’s 21st birthday. I’ll just let you know now that I was a terrible blogger and did not capture any of my eats from the past 36 hours. That habit officially ends now as I plan to capture an entire week full of fabulous fall food.

We celebrated my friend’s birthday by going out to dinner at Flavor, a favorite restaurant of mine in downtown Santa Rosa. The menu makes me salivate every time. I ordered one of my usuals, the Harvest Salad, and the Polenta Cake. It was out of this world – crispy on the outside, creamy on the inside, on a bed of fresh marinara with a dollop of gorgonzola – definitely a new favorite!

After a late night of additional celebrations, and a few sips of strawberry champagne, I woke up hungry and ready to hit the road north. I stopped at Starbucks for a soy latte and Perfect Oatmeal…it was a perfect combination : ) Even though nothing beats a homemade bowl of oats, Starbucks’ version with a medley of nuts and dried fruits is a great substitute for any sugary, carb-loaded pastry.

With a full tank of gas, I was ready to hop on the 101 and head home. Ahhh, it was such a b-e-a-u-tiful drive. How can one not love the beauty of Northern California’s diverse landscapes? I always love driving this route during the autumn months as the vineyards are at their prime. I wish I had the capability to drive and snap photos simultaneously. Then came the Redwoods, tall and magnificent as always. The dazzling blue sky faded the farther I drove north, until I was greeted by the Humboldt fog, per usual. It wouldn’t be home without it.

I pulled up to a freshly-painted house, but no dog to greet me with her wagging tail. When you’ve had a pet since the 3rd grade, home feels empty with her. I refreshed myself from the drive with a warm shower as my dad made a wonderful, welcome-home dinner. His ideas + my two cents = tasty goodness.

  • acorn squash with a bit of butter and brown sugar filled with wild rice, dried apricots & cranberries, and toasted pecans
  • butter lettuce & spinach salad with avocado, red onion, olive oil & balsamic

I am looking forward to more roaring fires in the wood stove, the glow of candles in my window, and meals with family and friends during this special week.

Warm wishes,

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

HOME, here I come! Living Local

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Donna  |  November 22, 2009 at 7:59 AM

    Ahhh. Welcome home.

    Reply
  • 2. shell625  |  November 22, 2009 at 8:44 AM

    home sweet home :)
    i looove that squash – looks awesome.

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 3. merittothecarrot  |  November 22, 2009 at 9:15 AM

    Mmmm… that meal looks marvelous! Anything stuffed into acorn squash is divine.

    Have a great Thanksgiving!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

November 2009
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



