Mini Monday Munches

November 16, 2009 at 2:53 PM 8 comments

Have you caught on to my addiction to alliteration? : ) Anyway, the workout was a sweaty one. I switched it up a bit by starting out with strength training first – about 15 minutes – then followed with cardio.

“According to a study from the University of Tokyo, participants who did a total-body strength workout 20 minutes before cycling burned 10% more fat than those who simply cycled without weight training. Lifting taps those hormones that guide fat into the furnance” (SELF Magazine).

I wasn’t in a hurry this morning, so I was able to fit in 20 minutes on the treadmill, 20 minutes on the stationary bike, and another 20 minutes on the ARC trainer. I ended with a bit more lifting and some stretches. Total workout = 90 minutes.

Before class I ate a mini Nutz Over Chocolate Luna Bar – all of about two bites! By 1:00pm, I was starving. I’m definitely a creature of habit, so today’s lunch was more of the same:

  • 1/2 sandwich on whole wheat w/ hummus, Havarti, cucumber & lettuce
  • 1 carrot
  • plain nonfat Greek yogurt w/ TJ’s Raisin Bran & honey

4-5pm: Nutrition

5-6pm: Library to study think about food

6-7pm: Biology Review

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Blueberry Bliss Mile High Pasta

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. shell625  |  November 16, 2009 at 3:16 PM

    looks good! & i read that in Self.

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 2. Shannon Simpson  |  November 16, 2009 at 3:21 PM

    So I tried Greek yogurt and YUM! Thanks for the tip. I will be getting that from now on:)

    Reply
    • 3. Hillary  |  November 16, 2009 at 7:50 PM

      I’m so glad! It’s definitely a huge fad : )

      Reply
  • 4. Mom  |  November 16, 2009 at 5:51 PM

    Beautiful lunch! I like all that color – and the yogurt ‘bowl’ :) Wish you were here to prepare my meals! xo, mom

    Reply
  • 5. Lauren  |  November 16, 2009 at 6:09 PM

    I’m glad your a creature of habbit because that lunch looks and sounds amazing! Perfectly balanced too! :)

    Reply
  • 6. Donna  |  November 16, 2009 at 9:25 PM

    so the yogurt I bought this afternoon @ trader joe’s said: “european style”…I guess I should have looked further for the greek stuff. oops.

    Reply
    • 7. Hillary  |  November 16, 2009 at 9:51 PM

      I know exactly what you bought. It’s cheaper and comes in a larger container, but definitely not the same – still pretty runny. Try Fage (Co-op), a favorite of my mom’s.

      Reply
      • 8. Donna  |  November 17, 2009 at 8:09 AM

        Got it. Fage.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

November 2009
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



