Muffin Mourning

November 11, 2009 at 10:25 AM 3 comments

Hello. I slept in a bit longer this morning because it’s a holiday, so I was especially ready for breakfast this a.m. I am hungry in the morning 98% of the time : ) This last weekend I made a batch of muffins from a beautiful recipe book I received last Christmas from my brother. I like to bake muffins and store them in the freezer for “on the run” breakfasts. I just pop 1 or 2 in the microwave, and can enjoy a warm, homemade muffin in seconds. The original recipe is Honey Oat Apple, but I made a couple changes by using agave nectar instead of honey, and adding chopped walnuts for some extra crunch. I also had a steaming cup of (decaffeinated) green tea – a new addiction.

006

R.I.P. Phoebe 7.18.97 – 11.11.09

I hope you are all enjoying a day of rest.

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Simple Salad & SYTYCD Little To Say

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Aunt Donna  |  November 11, 2009 at 10:54 AM

    Tell us something about agave nectar. I see it everywhere, but have been out of the loop on its nutritional value.

    And, I am sure our Phoebe would have enjoyed the muffin crumbs that might have fallen her way.

    Reply
    • 2. Hillary  |  November 12, 2009 at 3:50 PM

      Agave nectar is a natural sweetener, most commonly made from the Blue Agave plant. It has a lower Glycemic Index than other sweeteners. A lower GI means that carbohydrates are broken down more slowly, releasing glucose more gradually into the bloodstream.

      Reply
      • 3. Donna  |  November 27, 2009 at 6:11 PM

        Okey dokey. It’s going to be on our shopping list. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

November 2009
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



