Debut Day!

November 10, 2009 at 9:42 AM 9 comments

Hooray! Today is the day. Here’s the story…

I was woken up this morning by the annoying beep of my cell phone informing me I had a new text message. It was from my mom: “Read Jenna’s blog!” (7:09 a.m.). So, I crawled out of bed and flipped open my laptop as quickly as possible. Within seconds I was reading the exciting news @ Eat Live Run. Jenna’s blog was one of the first food/health blogs I had discovered, leading the way to my current blogging obsession. Ever since that enlightening day in June, I have followed Jenna through her adventurous life, admiring every step of the way. Her big news today was not only motivational, but a sign that there was no reason to wait any longer (to start my own blog, that is). Jenna only has a few years on me, yet her list of accomplishments is astonishing. Her post today was the ulimate kick-in-the-butt, saying, “What are you waiting for, Hillary?” : )

I am so excited to have (finally) started this new dimension of my life. I can’t promise my life is as exciting as Jenna’s – spontaneously moving across the country, working at a beautiful Sonoma County winery, dining with Top Chefs, and attending fabulous food blogging conferences (yes, there is such a thing!) – but I hope you will find a bit of inspiration from my life’s journeys, as I live (eat) each day to its fullest!

Speaking of eating, the second thing I could hardly wait to do this morning was stir up a pot of my favorite breakfast…OATMEAL! Today’s version was perfectly simple and satisfying:

  • 1 cup water
  • 2/3 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 banana
  • walnuts
  • cinnamon
  • splash of soy milk

Well, I have a full Tuesday of classes ahead + my bi-monthly Nutrition & Food Science Association meeting this evening.

Thanks for reading!

~ Hillary
Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Simple Salad & SYTYCD

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Grandma  |  November 10, 2009 at 11:39 AM

    This is so exciting, Hilly. I love your writing and photos. Thanks for sharing with all of us what is important to you. LOL, Grandma

    Reply
  • 2. Cassandra  |  November 10, 2009 at 12:16 PM

    Great! Good for you! Happy to see you follow your passion.

    Reply
  • 3. Aunt Donna  |  November 10, 2009 at 2:10 PM

    Here’s to good writing, eating, and yummy food pictures. I’m going to tweet about this:)

    Reply
  • 4. Amanda  |  November 10, 2009 at 1:48 PM

    OMG Hill, I loved reading this. I’m so proud of you! You know that I am ALWAYS looking at the pictures of the treats you make! love you!

    Reply
  • 5. Melodie Negri  |  November 10, 2009 at 2:08 PM

    Have added this to my list of “favorites”. Looking forward to your postings & pictures!

    Reply
  • 6. Mrs. H  |  November 10, 2009 at 5:50 PM

    You’re awesome! Look forward to hearing about your classes and what’s brewing in the future. Any good reads? Keep it coming!

    Reply
  • 7. Merry Maloney  |  November 10, 2009 at 8:21 PM

    Thanks for starting your blog…I’m looking forward to following it.

    Reply
  • 8. Durry  |  November 10, 2009 at 9:31 PM

    Look at you with a nifty blog and all. I’m very proud.

    Reply
  • 9. Tami  |  November 11, 2009 at 2:47 PM

    Absolutely love this! You are amazing, and inspiring. Thanks to your Aunt Donna for sharing this with me. Sorry about your dog. Painful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

November 2009
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



